LUSHpiration – Damaged Hot Oil Treatment DIY

Hi everyone 🙂

A while ago my hair was looking and feeling terrible. I had split ends and my hair was super dry. It needed a boost of life. Being an avid Facebooker (is that even a word?) I get to know a lot of people that love doing DIY projects (like me) and as it happened I came across a great LUSH inspired DIY by @lushietheodora. She is an amazing Dutch girl that is super crazy about LUSH. She made a Youtube video of her version of the LUSH Damaged Hot Oil Treatment. Please go and check that out !!! Don’t forget to give her a thumbs up 😀

hot oil 1

What do you need to make a hot oil treatment ? 

Ingredients: (quantities depend on how much you make, I used equal parts of each)

  • Coconut Oil
  • Almond Oil
  • Shea Butter
  • Cocoa Butter (I left this one out)
  • Lemon Juice
  • Conditioner (optional)
  • Essential Oil (optional)

You will also need:

  • Heat resistant bowl
  • Little containers or ice cube forms 
  • Sticks (optional)
  • Something to mix the oils

hot oil 2

Put your oils (not the essential oil), butters and conditioner together in a heat resistant bowl. Heat it either in the microwave in bursts of 10-15 seconds and stir between each burst or do it over a double boiler. Be patient and be careful !!! When everything is molten, let it cool for a bit and then add your essential oil. I used 4 drops of chamomile oil. You can add in whatever you like 🙂

hot oil 4

Pour the mixture into your small containers or an ice cube mold and let it set in the fridge or freezer for about 10-20 minutes. Take them out and insert your sticks. I used plastic spoons instead. Place them back into the fridge until fully set.

hot oil 3

As you can see, my conditioner sank to the bottom and the oils didn’t really set nicely. Mine came semi liquid again after being in the bathroom closet for about half an hour. I think it’s because I didn’t use cocoa butter. Cocoa butter helps to solidify the hot oil treatment and to keep it solid afterwards as well. it also helps with mixing in the conditioner so it doesn’t sink.

hot oil 5

To prevent dust from getting into my oil treatments, I covered them with a paper cupcake liner.

How to use the hot oil treatment ?

Heat your oil in a heat resistant container over a double boiler or place it in another container of hot water. If you poured your oil into ice cube molds, you can also heat the oil in the micro wave in bursts or 10-15 seconds. Don’t let it get too hot !!! Apply to your hair and let it sit for about 30 minutes. Rinse and shampoo your hair like usual. 

I hope you enjoyed this little DIY. Thank you again @lushietheodora !!! 

What kind of DIY would you like to see next ? Would you like me to make a series of LUSH inspired DIY projects ?

Be Happy !!!

Bunnie

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shannon
    Sep 29, 2015 @ 17:40:07

    Oh love this idea! Anything Lush related is usually a win!

    Shannon
    Clothes & Quotes

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Isabelle
    Mar 03, 2016 @ 15:31:19

    Thank you for sharing, Id like very much to try it but I have a few questions though: lemon juice is listed in the ingredients but it doesn’t say when to add it. With the essential oils maybe ? And how much juice is needed ? A few drops, a tablespoon, half of the lemon juice ? I tried to watch lushietheodora video but it has been deleted. Thank you in advance for your help

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Bunnywunnie8
      Mar 05, 2016 @ 14:18:17

      I added it when I did the essential oils yes and not too much, because it can strip the good oils from your hair. So just a teaspoon orso for the whole batch.
      Let me know how it was 😀

      Like

      Reply

  3. Isabelle
    Mar 21, 2016 @ 01:53:12

    Hi, sorry it took me so long to reply, I was away for a couple of weeks. Thank you for your answer, I’ll try it next week-end and let you know how it went.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. MELISA PANTOJA
    May 05, 2017 @ 14:47:14

    Would it be possible to do an updated tutorial using the cocoa butter?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Please leave a comment :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.