PUR Ketch’up – Natural and Delicious <3

Hi there ๐Ÿ˜‰

A few days ago, I found myself wondering trough the supermarket. I had a shopping list in my hand and I was pushing a nicely filled shopping cart. As I walked the condiment aisle my eye fell on a products, I had never seen there before. It must be new ^^ Let’s investigate ^^

ketch'up 1

The cute packaging caught my eye immediately. Environmental friendly glass bottles, paper seal and label. That’s a plus in my book ๐Ÿ˜€ The fact that there were two kinds, Beetroot and tomato, is just amazingly sweet. I love my beetroot โค

ketch'up 3ketch'up 2

A closer look at the bottle cap and label reveal that this product is natural and pure. My interest got higher and higher at this point ๐Ÿ˜€ I have never seen ketchup that is 100% natural with no additives or colorants.

ketch'up 6

Both kinds have a pretty thick, viscous consistency, but come out of the bottle easily. I expected there would be the need to tap the bottom of the bottle vigorously like a normal old fashioned ketchup bottle, but no such thing had to happen at all. In fact, I had to be fast to not get to much keth’up out at once.

ketch'up 5ketch'up 8

Let’s take a closer look at both kinds. First up is the TOMATO. It had a nice, not overly, red colour. If you look a little closer, you can still see that the Ketch’up isn’t totally a liquid. There is still some texture of tomatoes in it.

Looking at the nutritional facts I immediately notice that the calories are somewhat higher then the standard ketchup. PUR tomato Ketch’up has 162 kcal as supposed to 111 kcal for a Heinz tomato Ketchup. I guess that more natural ingredients mean higher calories. It actually doesn’t worry me at all. There is also a significant amount of sugar in the PUR ketch’up. Almost 38% is sugar. Don’t forget that tomatoes contain a high amount of ย natural sugars. There is also some sugar added to counter the vinegar that’s been used. Other ketchup contains less sugar, but they use fructose sirop and artificial sweetners.

TASTE TEST: This ketchup has a nice sweet, strong tomato flavour. More like a good tomato paste, but not as strong. It has that artisan tomato sauce zing behind it. I’m personally not a huge fan f ketchup, but this is one I will devour until the last drip !!! I give it and 8.5/10 !!!ย 

ketch'up 4ketch'up 7

The beetroot variety has a nice deep red, almost purple colour. It’s also not fully mixed, so it still has some texture.

This variety has less sugars in it. It’s about the same (a little higher) than normal ketchup. Beetroot has less natural sugars then tomatoes have. Beetroot ketchup isn’t something that you find every day. It seems a healthy choice ๐Ÿ™‚

TASTE TEST: There isn’t as much sugar in this one, but still it tastes pretty sweet. The earthiness of the beetroot is there and totally comes out at the end. It gives this ketchup a nice little twist ๐Ÿ™‚

ketch'up 9

Yesterday I felt like eating a salad and instead of dressing, I used some beetroot Ketch’up. It was a good choice. I really love my beetroot in salads and even when I don’t have any, I can add the flavour. PUR Ketch’up is a perfect substitute for salad dressing for me โค and adds a good splash of colour to your dishes ๐Ÿ™‚

Would you try all natural ketchup ?

Be Happy !!!

Bunnie

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. bmobshelldrawer
    Apr 13, 2016 @ 21:36:28

    In our fridge you can see how we awkwardly keep the small ketchup paces from our delivery LOl. We keep them and everyone try to pick the good ones, and leave the rest haha!! most of the available brands suck. I am more for natural and small business makers! They do it better!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Please leave a comment :)

