The ever so hated BRUSH WASH DAY …

Hi everyone 🙂

Contrary to what the title of this blog made you think, I don’t really hate washing my brushes. I only hate that it takes such a long time to get them all washed, rinsed and dried.

brush 2

I have so many brushes that it’s a real pain in the ass to get them all clean in ship shape. On the other hand, having a lot of brushes is a perk. I don’t have to wash my brushes as often 😉 Normally you should wash your brushes at least once every month. A lot of people swear by cleaning them every week. For me that’s excessive and not necessary. I don’t wear makeup every day. I can’t even tell you when I last washed then. (I feel so ashamed now) 

brush 3

This sponge/brush cleanser I got from a friend. I only use it to clean my beauty sponges with it and it really does that very well. I haven’t decided on what brand I will get when this one runs out. I’m open to all suggestions, just keep in mind I don’t have tons of money to spend on just a brush cleanser 😉

brush 4

For my brushes I use ordinary glycerin soap. I used to use baby shampoo, but when my bottle ran out, I took some soap and that does the trick just as well in my honest opinion. I wet the brushes and run them over the soap until they start to foam. Then run them in circles over my brush egg of just over the palm of my hand to clean them. Give the brushes a good rinse and prepare to get them dry.

brush 5

And then the ‘magic‘ happens. My clothing rack turns into a huge brush tree for a day. Who needs to spend money on a brush tree when you have a clothing rack ? 😉 Besides, I never seen a brush tree big enough to house all my brushes at once. It’s a little odd, I’ll give you that, but it’s an easy fix. I read you can do this with coat hangers and rubber bands too.

brush 1

Even the cat looked a little weird when she saw what I did, hahaha :p

Well now I can use these brushes again for a while and make the promise to myself that I’ll wash them every month. Or at least try to 😉 

What is your brush cleaning ritual ? How often do you wash them ?

Be Happy !!!

Bunnie

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. peggy timmermans
    Apr 11, 2016 @ 20:24:04

    I will help you out your misery, buy Cinema Secrets and those days are over for ever!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. mrsstrawberryblonde
    Apr 12, 2016 @ 03:46:10

    The brush rack is fantastic! Even the cat agrees! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Please leave a comment :)

