LUSHpiration – Shower Smoothie DIY

Hey all ๐Ÿ™‚

Last year at Christmas I bought way too much soaps. I had 4 Yog Nog soaps and 3 Snowcake soaps, that was great at the time, but now they are taking a little bit too much space in the box I store them in. I need room for new ones :p So I got the ‘crazy’ idea to make a shower smoothie out of one of my bars of soap. I found a few recipes online, but I decided to do some experimenting of my own.

yog nog 1

What do you need:

  • 50 gr Soap (preferably a soap with a creamy texture like Yog Nog)
  • 100 gr Coconut Oil
  • 2 tbsp Almond Oil
  • 3 tbsp Olive Oil (you can also do all almond or all olive oil, or use another oil you prefer)
  • 50 ml water
  • A big bowl for mixing
  • An electric whisk
  • Graterย 

I made 2 batches, I made one with molten coconut oil, I’ll call this method the ‘WET’ method and I made one without melting the coconut oil and we’ll call the one the ‘DRY’ method ๐Ÿ™‚

yog nog 2

For both methods start with grating your soap as fine as you can/dare. I used the smallest side of my grater. It does get a little messy as the soap is creamy and does melts a little of the warmth of your hand, but you can easily rub of push through the small pieces. BE CAREFUL NOT TO CUT YOUR FINGERS !!! We want a shower smoothie, not a grated finger massacre ๐Ÿ˜‰ย 

yog nog 3

WET method: Melt your coconut oil either over a double boiler of in the microwave. Use 10 second bursts on full power when using the microwave. Add the coconut, almond and olive oil to the grated soap and stir it. It doesn’t look pretty as the soap doesn’t dissolve or combines with the oils. Just stir until all of the soap is coated in the oil. Put the bowl in the fridge for about 20-30 minutes to cool and set a little.

DRY method: Add all the oils and the water to the grated soap.

yog nog 4

WET method: This is how the mixture looks when it comes out of the fridge. Take the electric whisk and start whisking until you have a creamy mass. Add your water and start whisking again. You will see that the mixture grows in size and gets a lot creamier, instead of greasy.

DRY method: Start whisking the ingredients. Be careful because the water tends to go everywhere. Start on the lowest speed and gradually amp it up.

yog nog 5 copy

yog nog 5a copy

This is how both mixtures looked after 2-3 minutes of whisking. You can see that the wet one is a lot creamier, but less firm. The dry one still has some clumps of coconut oil in it, but I don’t mind that personally. Both still have little bits of the grated soap in it, but that I also don’t mind. You can try to dissolve the soap first in the water and then add all the oils.

yog nog 7 copy

There is also a little colour difference between the wet and the dry method. The dry one is ever so slightly whiter.

Yog nog 6

With each batch I was able to fill 1.5 container of 300 ml. So 100 grams of soap became 600ย ml of fluffy shower smoothie ๐Ÿ˜€

The day after making them I opened the containers again, expecting the fluff to have dropped a little. I discovered the smoothie didn’t go down, but just got a little firmer. It’s not at all hard, it’s like a very firm chocolate mouse texture.

This shower smoothie doesn’t foam in the shower, I tried, but it does clean and it does make your skin soft. The oils are a great moisturizer. I’m not disappointed that the shower smoothie doesn’t foam, I haven’t had a single LUSH shower smoothie that foamed either.

Let me know what you think of this recipe. If you try it yourself let me know how it turned out ๐Ÿ™‚ You can always tag me in a photo on Twitter and Instagram @Bunnywunnie8. I’m looking forward to doing more LUSH DIY for you ๐Ÿ˜€

Be Happy !!!

Bunnie

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aprilkitties
    Oct 08, 2015 @ 23:15:39

    Leuk idee, heb hier nog Lush zeepjes liggen! Zal ik ook eens proberen!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Farrah
    Oct 09, 2015 @ 01:53:20

    I love this! โค LUSH is one of my favorite stores ever, but I'm unfortunately not that rich, so I can't wait to try this out! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Lisa (@retrohousewife5)
    Oct 09, 2015 @ 03:23:32

    Sounds awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Eske
    Dec 03, 2015 @ 18:37:12

    Wauw geweldig! Dat lijkt me echt heerlijk onder de douche!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Chante McLin
    Jan 04, 2016 @ 21:18:56

    I have made this smoothie twice and perfected it yesterday to make a LATHERING dream!! The key is liquid castile soap. I grated Shea Moisture bar soap and then added an additional 1/4 cup of liquid castile soap to the mix (I doubled the above recipe). I whipped the mixture before and after the addition of diistilled water (it expanded a lot and was very light and fluffy) and then set it in the fridge overnight. I then whipped it again and this time it settled down, and is very creamy almost like body butter but with a nice lather! Oh, YEAH! Thanks so much for this recipe, it’s even better than the LUSH version and so much cheaper, it makes A LOT. Oh yeah, I added lemon and bergamot essential oil after the cool down process, so it smells like lemon custard pie…yummy.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. Kim
    Mar 23, 2017 @ 00:13:07

    does anybody know how to get the “Turkish Delight” scent? Love. Love.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Please leave a comment :)

