A Berrylicious Breakfast – Overnight Oats

Hello there 😀

We all know how important it is to have a good breakfast to start the day with. It’s the most important meal of the day. It gives you nutrients and gets your body (and digestive tract) going.

oats 1

Since I’ve been watching what I eat and going to a dietitian, I read a lot about oatmeal. How nutritious and healthy it is and how it kept the body going for quite a while. That last thing was something that my morning toast with jelly didn’t do. I got hungry after 2 hours again and because of my diet, I couldn’t eat between meals, so I had to suffer for at least another 2 hours before I could eat again. Oats keep me full for at least 3.5 hours and then I can feel my stomach starting to go like ‘hmmm I need food.’ You can find a lot (and a lot) of recipes for oats. Hot and cold. Today I want to show you one of the versions of cold, overnight oats I sometimes make 🙂 For you who don’t have a clue what overnight oats are, well … they are oats you prepare and let sit in the refrigerator for a night, before you eat them.

oats 2

I used the amounts specified in my diet, but you can take more (or less) 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 40 grams rolled oats (not minute oats)
  • raspberries ( as much as you like)
  • mixed berries (frozen of fresh)
  • 2 tsp grated coconut (optional)
  • 100 ml milk (any milk will do, I used semi-skimmed)
  • 100 – 125 grams yogurt (any yogurt, but I prefer low fat)

oats 3

Start of with mixing all the ‘dry’ ingredients together in your bowl (a cup or mason jar work fine as well)

oats 4

Add the milk and the yogurt and give everything a good stir. This is also the point where I like to add in something to sweeten the whole thing a little more. Think a litle bit of honey, stevia or table sweetener. If you prefer sugar, go ahead, but that has a much higher glycemic index and will make your blood sugar spike more. A low glycemic index throughout the dish makes your body go on longer and you don’t get cravings for more sugar.

oats 5

This is how my oats looked before I put them in the fridge. They are still quite runny at this point. The pink colour is from the berries, because I crushed them a little for more flavour 😉

oats 1

In the morning, I gave my oats another quick stir to mix everything up again. The berries had sunk to the bottom a bit. The oatmeal is now a lot thicker, due to the oats swelling. You can enjoy your overnight oats cold or slightly heated up in the microwave for about 30-60 seconds.

For people who don’t want yogurt, you can substitute that with another 100 ml of milk. You can also take twice the yogurt if you don’t want milk 😉

How do you take your oats ?

Let me know in the comments what your favourite recipe is and if you want to see more of my recipes 😀

Be Happy !!!

Bunnie

 

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth Jenkins
    Aug 27, 2015 @ 16:48:30

    I love overnight oats and these look delish!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Cynthia @craftoflaughter
    Aug 27, 2015 @ 20:35:59

    I haven’t tried over night oats yet and yours look delicious, I’ll have to give it a try!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Sina @ Vegan Heaven
    Aug 27, 2015 @ 21:51:21

    I just love overnight oats. 🙂 Yours look really delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Please leave a comment :)

