Make or Break ??? – Forever Living Aloe Products

Hey all 🙂

When I first announced in the end of April that I would do a natural May month, I got contacted by a lovely lady. She explained to me that she worked for a company that makes products with Aloe Vera. I was using Aloe Vera at the time (and I still am) for dry patches in my hair, as hair mask and to use on my face and body as an after sun lotion. We talked over the phone and since I was a little curious, we decided to meet up. That didn’t go as smooth as we though (lot of stuff kept happening), but last week we finally met up 🙂

forever-logo

The nice lady got to explain even better what she did and what the company, Forever Living, stood for. Forever was founded in 1978 by an american called Rex Maughan. Together with a befriended pharmacist he developed the cold stabilisation process for Aloe Vera so all nutrients and beneficial components were kept in it and it was possible to ship it all over the world. The process was patented and is now only used by Forever Living.

You can’t find Forever products in any store, not even in America. It’s only sold by official distributors all over the world. Because Forever isn’t a company that you just would go and buy, they give you the opportunity to test some of their best selling products for a week. I also got that opportunity and after the meeting, I went home with the infamous test box.

Before I start with the review I want to say that everything I say is based on MY OWN EXPERIENCE and that it’s only one experience among thousands. Don’t let it guide you to form a decision (bad or good). If you really want to form a decision, I suggest you try the products yourself.

Let me start of with telling you that this box is (as you see) filled with a lot of products. Some are standard to the box, some are added by the distributor. You can see the products are all full size. That is also a negative thing. It’s a test box, which means you don’t use up all the product in a week. I know that at least one person used these products before me and you never know how clean that person was. So the first thing I did when I got home is take some tissues, soak them in rubbing alcohol and rub all the products down to remove any dirt, bacteria or dried up bits of product. I think since Forever is a large company, they should invest in making either TRAVELSIZES or TESTERS. It would be cleaner and better. For me personally i didn’t have any problem with using used products as long as I could wipe them down, but I know people that would have a MAJOR problem with it and immediately say NO to this.

Let me review the products for you now. I’ll put a description next to it of what it is supposed to do and what it is good for. After that I’ll tell you what my experience has been with that particular product 😉

Sonya Aloe Balancing Cream:

Rich in vitamin E and white tea extract. It’s a rich skin cream that helps to restore and maintain the natural moisture balance of your skin. It also contains L-Arginine to give your face a nice glow. It comes with a tiny little scoop to be able to get the perfect dosage. A little goes a long way.

My Experience: I found that indeed a little goes a long way. Just a tiny scoop full does my whole face an neck. The cream has a gel like texture and a nice soft smell. It immediately gets absorbed by the skin. I did look and feel oily all day when I used it. The first day I thought I used to much, but when I used less the next few days, it stayed just as oily. I even tried to use it without the Nourishing Serum, but it stayed the same. So this cream is nothing for me. 

Sonya Aloe Nourishing Serum:

Used before the Balancing cream. It contains white tea extract to restore the moisture balance of the skin. It also contains mimosa extract that has a calming effect.This product is suitable for sensitive skin.

My Experience: This serum is also a gel like textured cream. You only need 2-3 little pumps to do your whole face and neck. It feels a little more oily than the Balancing cream, but it soaks into the skin in seconds. It made me oily. Even when used without the Balancing cream. 

Aloe Heat Lotion:

At Forever they call this the ‘Smart Lotion’. It becomes hot to relax the muscles or becomes cold when the muscle is inflamed. It’s ideal to use for massaging soar muscles. Containing eucalyptus it has disinfecting, anti-viral and anti-fungal properties.

My Experience: I did some yoga this week and overdid it a little bit. My neck and shoulders are stiff as a board. I tried the Heat lotion for 3 days straight and it didn’t warm up, nor did it go cold on me. My muscles are still soar. I also used it on a day that I had stress/tention head ache to release me from some tention on my upper neck, but it didn’t help. I got nauseous from the smell. I do like the smell of the product, but not when I have a major headache.

Aloe Vera Gelly:

This is almost pure Aloe Vera thatyou can rub where ever you like. It helps with dry and flaky skin. It also helps calming the skin whenyou have insect bites, sun burn or broken, stretched skin.

My Experience: I’m enthusiastic about this product 😀 I used it on a little dry patch that I had on my hand and it’s gone now. I already knew that Aloe does that, because I use my jar of Aloe Vera for dry patches in my hair. It’s a lot more solid than the Aloe I’m using and it’s a little sticky, but that goes away after a few minutes. 

Aloe Propolis Cream: 

Stabilized Aloe Vera, vitamin A and E, bee propolis, herbs and chamomile  for the base for this cream. Ideal for taking care of dry skin. It softens the skin and helps with the moisture balance.

My Experience: I used the cream on my feet and hands for a few days and I don’t like it. It does smell divine, but the cream doesn’t like my skin. I even scrubbed my feet and hands before using it, because the day before I had like bits of skin rubbing of. The day I scrubbed I still had it. I think that my skin is to greasy or doesn’t want to absorb all the product.

Aloe – Jojoba Shampoo:

An Aloe based mild shampoo with Jojoba oil for optimal hair care. It nourishes and softens the hair.

My Experience: The smell is amazing, but I don’t feel like it does anything for my hair. I used it twice and both times my hair got greasy faster than it does with my regular shampoo.

Aloe – Jojoba Conditioning Rinse:

An Aloe based conditioner with Jojoba oil. It makes the hair free from tangles and gives volume and strength.

My Experience: Also this one smells amazing !!! It didn’t really make my hair tangle free, but no conditioner does that. My hair felt a lot harder than it normally does and it didn’t have the shine that it normally has either.

Aloe Hand & Face Soap:

A soft cleanser suitable for every skin type. With Aloe to make your hands and face soft and keep the moisture in.

My Experience: Not all products were a bust. This one is my favorite !!! It left my hands soooo soft that I kept touching my hands all day long. I even went to wash my hands more than I had too 😀 A big plus is that you only need one little pump to wash your hands and look at the size of that bottle !!!

Forever Hand Sanitizer:

Clean hands without washing them. This alcohol gel is enriched with Aloe to lock in moisture and keep your hands from drying out.

My Experience: This sanitizer is another HIT !!! It has a nice smell of citrus and does the job perfectly. Your hands are soft and don’t feel dry at all 🙂 Unlike the other sanitizers I used before, it didn’t give me a headache. It has no obvious alcohol smell.

Aloe Lips:

The protecting and moisture regulating lip balm with stabilized Aloe Vera Gel, Jojoba oil and beeswax. It’s good for dry and cracked lips, insect bites, dry patches and so much more. It doesn’t only function as a lip balm.

My Experience: I like this lip balm a lot. It keeps my lips soft for a long time and has a nice pearl shine to it. I wanted to show you the original packaging, so I ripped of the sticker they put on it with dutch on it. I kept this lip balm in my pants pocket all week and I will continue to use it ^^ This is also the only thing that was new in the test box and I could keep (for obvious reasons)

These are the 3 products I didn’t test. I’ll explain why.

The Relaxation Shower Gel has cucumber extract in it and I’m allergic to that, so of course I don’t want an allergic reaction. It does smell fantastic like lavender. I’m bummed that i couldn’t try it 😦

I’m not keen om using toothpaste that you should not rinse after using. The Forever Bright Toothgel smells way to minty for me and I can’t stand a lot of mint in about anything.

I think it’s pretty obvious why I didn’t use the Gentleman’s Pride. It’s an aftershave lotion for men. Since my boyfriend doesn’t shave with a razor all the time, he didn’t try it either.

I took a look at the seals that Forever has and I’ve seen that they aren’t all on the back of their products. I’ll walk you trough the seals they have and don’t have.

Certification_Seal

The International Aloe Science Council Certificate:

It means that the Aloe Vera they use is as pure as possible. It’s the first time I see this certificate. My other Aloe Vera Gel doesn’t have it, nor did my jar before that. It’s on all the products from Forever.

All Forever Livings Aloe is produced by them. They own their own plantations around the equator and have their own processing plants where the Aloe is extracted by hand.

Kosher2

The Kosher Certificate:

This certificate means that the products with this logo can be used by Jews. It’s a clean product.

IFANCA_Halal_Logo

The Halal Certificate:

This certificate means that the products with this logo can be used by Muslims. Forever Living also has the Islamic Seal of Approval.

The lovely lady I met with told me that Forever Living doesn’t test on animals. It isn’t stated on their own website, not are they on the Peta cruelty free list, but I found them on the Leaping Bunny list. So they are CRUELTY FREE !!! I would suggest that Forever puts the Leaping Bunny logo on their products and put’s it on their website as well !!!

All in all I have to say I’m not super enthusiast about Forever Living products. They aren’t natural at all and I’m more into natural stuff since  istarted with them this month. Of course I will use non natural products again, but I don’t think it will be from Forever. They were fun to test, but nothing for me.

Have you heard of Forever Living before ? Have you tried their products ?

Be Happy !!!

Bunnie

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Briana
    May 28, 2015 @ 10:02:14

    Sounds like a great brand

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Vicky
    Oct 29, 2015 @ 01:42:41

    Hi there! As much as I love seeing my design on an awesome blog promoting cruelty-free choices, I would greatly appreciate it if you linked it back to my page or credit the image! (http://elephant-room.org/how-to-know-crueltyfree/) Thanks a bunch! =)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. claudia horta
    Nov 23, 2015 @ 18:21:16

    hi bunnie, thanks for sharing your experience with the Forever Living products. I joined the company recently and loving all the products so far, Aloe Heat Lotion being one of my favourites! Why do you say “They aren’t natural at all”?!? I thought it was a natural products company…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Bunnywunnie8
      Nov 23, 2015 @ 20:18:09

      There are hardly any natural things in their products. They advertise themselve as being natural, because of their patent on the aloe vera gel en such, but they aren’t.

      Like

      Reply

      • njh010262nheatley
        Oct 11, 2016 @ 10:51:07

        Can you tell me which range of products you do consider as ‘natural’ ?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Bunnywunnie8
        Oct 12, 2016 @ 06:01:50

        I consider natural products if they are certified. I do know that their Aloe is certified and good, but in the rest of their products it’s all or nearly all chemicals. I use a variety of brands that are considered more natural and even bio like Urtekram and Cattier Paris.

        Like

  4. Lili Tay
    May 15, 2017 @ 18:32:34

    Hello, I’m using gelly n propolis for 3years plus. And it was really good product. I would like to know about aloe cleanser (aloe fleur de jouvence). I just started to used the cleanser for 4days but it show that pimple had pop out. It is normal??

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Please leave a comment :)

