The Healthy Food Corner – Lactose Free Milk – DIY Nut Milk

Hello all 🙂

Did you know that almost 65% of the world population is lactose intolerance or has a reduced ability to digest lactose. That is a lot !!! There are a lot of the lactose intolerant people that still drink normal lactose containing milk. Either they don’t really know they are lactose intolerant or that they not digest lactose so good. Others take pills daily or with every meal. The last few years I’ve seen more and more lactose free alternatives coming on the market. Lactose free milk, soy milk, rice milk and different kinds of nut milks.

I’m not lactose intolerant, but I am curious about the alternatives. Because I try to eat as sugar free as possible, I wanted to try nut milk with no added sugars. I had almonds and hazelnuts in my pantry, so why not try and make my own nut milk ?!

You don’t need a lot of ingredients to make nut milk.

Ingredients:

* Almonds or Hazelnuts (I took half a cup because it was a trial run)

* Water to soak 

* Water (2.5 times the amount of nuts)

* A blender

* Something to soak the nuts in (can be your blender)

* Cloth / towel / mesh

First I shelled my nuts. Put them 2-3 minutes in boiling water. Drain them and shell them. With almonds you can simple squeeze the back of the nut and they will pop out of their peel. Don’t squeeze to hard or you will have flying almonds. The hazelnuts are a little bit more pesky to peel, but take your time and be patient.

Put the nuts into a container and fill with water. The nuts need to be submerged. Leave them to soak for about 12-20 hours. Don’t let them soak for longer than 24 hours.

After 12-20 hours drain the nuts and put them into your blender. Add water, 2.5 times the amount of nuts you have. And blitz them to oblivion 😉

After blending for about 30 seconds this should be the result. A frothy milk like substance. There will still be bits and pieces in it.

That’s where your towel, cloth or mesh comes in handy. Strain the milk through the towel. You’ll see that the bits and pieces will stay behind.

Squeeze out all the liquid from what remains in the towel.

This is what I ended up with. On the left, my almond milk and on the right my hazelnut milk. Both are delicious !!! Because there are no preservatives in these home made milks, they only keep for about 4 days in your fridge. The white stuff in the containers is the pulp I was left with after squeezing the milk out.

I dried mine out in the oven. Just put it in on the lowest setting and stir from time to time. When dry, store in a container in the fridge.

Have you ever tried making your own milk ?

Be Happy !!!

Bunnie

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cleaneatingveggiegirl
    May 14, 2015 @ 15:47:44

    I NEED to make my own nut milk sometime! It sounds SO easy, and I hear it is much more delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. kungphoo
    May 14, 2015 @ 20:59:38

    I drink almond milk.. i do not drink the regular milk. This sounds easy, maybe i will give it a try.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Bunnywunnie8
      May 14, 2015 @ 21:32:24

      It’s easy as counting to 3 🙂 I think if you find almonds at a good price, you can make it cheaper than store bought almond milk and you’ll have the almond meal / flower as added bonus 😉

      Like

      Reply

  3. Jaime
    May 15, 2015 @ 01:49:15

    Wow, that’s awesome! I’ve never thought about making my own milk, but I do use almond milk and this looks like it’d be easy to make!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Sanne
    May 24, 2015 @ 19:05:35

    ik wist niet dat je zelf melk kon maken. ik heb weer iets bijgeleerd.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Trackback: The Healthy Food Corner – Lactose, Sugar and Wheat Free American Apple Pie | Bunnie's Choice

Please leave a comment :)

