Celebrating my grandmother and her passion for nature

Hi all,

This is a little hard for me to write. I should have posted this on Sunday (Mothersday), but I had a little bit of a hard time writing it down.

It is 8 years ago that I lost my mother after a courageous battle with cancer. She was a wonderful lady and a fantastic mother. Always ready to help people that needed a little hand and she hardly ever asked for help herself. I think about her every single day and miss her every single day !

17775251_10420800_3716905

If I think back to my mothers last few months, I haven’t been the best daughter I could be, but I know deep in my heart she still loved me and still saw me as her little girl. I LOVE YOU MUM !!! *I’m totally tearing up right now*ย 

So now you know why I didn’t post anything on Mothersday. I don’t celebrate it. I celebrate GRANDMOTHERSDAY !!! *Smiles* I have the luck that my both grandmothers are still alive and kicking. I my fathers mother lives about an hour from me and is the youngest of my 2 grandmothers. She still rides her bike and goes on trips with her friends. I don’t see her very often, but I love her to bits. My mothers mother I see at least once a week. She only lives about 3 streets away from me ๐Ÿ™‚

Of course my grandmother doesn’t want to show how old she is and she insisted on posing with her wireless home phone ๐Ÿ˜‰

My grandparents always had a great passion for nature and their garden. They had a vegetable garden en a lot of flowers. My grandfather kept birds and he always kept himself busy with something outside. Since he died, the vegetable garden has vanished and it’s been replaced by an easy to maintain lawn.

My grandmother hasn’t lost her passion for flowers and gardening. Although it’s becoming a little hard to do all the planting herself. *She will be 87 in august, yes we are 60 years apart in age* Her front garden is always filled with lots and lots of pretty miracles of nature.

Lily of the Valley

Bleeding Hearts

Camelia

She also has a little plant nursery in one of the sheds in the backyard. She keeps a variety of plants there to sprout and grow strong enough to get planted outside.

She is growing African Marigolds and Begonia’s at the moment. There are also some Fuchsia plants that need to begin to grow buds.

When I asked my grandmother why she loves to keep and work on plants she told me this: “I grow flowers because they give me something to do and they keep me alive. The scent and seeing the plant grow and thrive, make me feel alive.”

I also asked her what her favorite plant was and she immediately ย took me to her sowing room. *she used to be a seamstress and still makes her own clothes*

My grandmother loves orchids !!! She used to have about 10-15 different kinds. These days she only keeps a few of the smaller kinds. I know she takes pride in taking care of these magnificent flowers ๐Ÿ™‚ Bathing them every weekend and making sure they are looking good. Some orchid kinds can bloom up to 6 months.

The orchids aren’t the only plants that she keeps around the house. She has a little table near the big window in the dining room with flowers and little plants. Yes this pretty, but quirky plant is on there as well. My grandmother also has a canary, but he didn’t want to be photographed :p I think he has privacy issues :p

I gave her this little plate to hang in her house. Every word on it is true !!! She always has been like a second mother to me. Whenever both my parents were working, we went to grandma. I can’t count the nights she took care of us when we *me and my brother* were sick. She was always there for us when we needed her. Even now I go to her for advice and I still see her as my second mother. I will be devastated the day she passes away.ย *fingers crossed she will become a 100 years old*ย 

Me and my grandmother together ๐Ÿ˜€

I thank my grandmother every day for being my mothers mother and making me a better person. I LOVE YOU GRANDMA !!!

How do you show your mother/grandmother how much you love her ?

Be Happy !!!

Bunnie

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gabi
    May 14, 2015 @ 20:55:49

    Love this blog! Your grandmother is just adorable and I love her passion for flowers and gardening. Wish we lived closer, I loved cuttings of her plants, especially that funky green one and the heart one. I love orchids as well so I can relate, they are just beautiful flowers. Lost both my grandmothers a few years ago now so definitely enjoy her for as long as you can ๐Ÿ™‚ I miss my grandmothers every day! Hope yours lives to be 100!! I know her keeping busy definitely helps her and gives her many more years ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Bunnywunnie8
      May 14, 2015 @ 21:33:37

      Aw thank you !!! My grandmother would love someone to cut the plants for her. Now she has to hire a gardener to do it for her. (I’m not a person with the passion for gardening, I do love flowers and so, but not to maintain them myself)

      Like

      Reply

Please leave a comment :)

