Smooth and soft skin ^^ – DIY Whipped Body Butter

Hey there,

I promised a little piece about what I made with the Extra Virgin Coconut Oil I’ve tested. If you missed that piece, you can read it here. Because I read about using coconut oil for your skin, I wanted to try and make my own whipped body butter. I used coconut oil before, when I made my own natural lipbalmย and I use it to cook ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s really a very nice thing to use. Whether scented or unscented.

I want to show you how to make simple, but very effective moisturizing whipped body butter with only 3 ingredients. I made a small batch, but you can multiply the amounts to make more ๐Ÿ˜‰

Ingredients:

50 grams coconut oil

1/2 tbsp almond oil (or olive oil, macadamia nut oil or caster oil)

1 tbsp aloe vera gelย 

You’ll also need a mixing bowl, an electric or manual mixer and a container to store the body butter in.

Add all ingredients to a mixing bowl. You don’t have to melt the coconut oil first. It won’t work if it’s melted !!! Take the electric mixer and put it on high speeds, with a wire whisk attachment, for about 3-7 minutes. After 3 minutes, check back every minute or so, until the mixture is the right consistency. It should be light and airy. You can also whisk the mixture by hand like I did. It does take quite a bit of elbow grease and more time, but it gets there in the end ๐Ÿ˜‰

This (or more airy) is what you should get. It looks like whipped cream, but stiffer.

I put it in a cleaned out LUSH container, but you can use almost any kind of plastic or glass container/jar.

When you use the whipped body butter it will turn into a very nice oily texture. You don’t need much and it isn’t sticky or very oily on the skin. The coconut oil makes the skin soft and gives it back some of it’s moisture. The almond oil and aloe gel help the skin to get hydrated again and to retain that gained moisture.

This body butter doesn’t need to be stored in the refrigerator, because then it would become solid again. Just store it in a cool and dark place.

If you want a nice and scented body butter, you can add 10 drops of essential oil before you start to whip it up ๐Ÿ˜€ I didn’t do it with mine, because my coconut oil had the nice coconut scent to it ^^

What do you think about making your own body products ?

Be Happy !!!

Bunnie

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara
    Apr 02, 2015 @ 01:54:11

    This looks lovely. Would you be able to switch the almond oil to an nut based oil, for us allergic people? But thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Please leave a comment :)

