Infusing water – Challenge myself – Part 4

Hello all of you 🙂

Living healthy has been trying for me. I only last 1 lb so far. That’s a little disappointing, I wanted to loose at least 2 by now. The lack of weight loss doesn’t discourage me to keep doing what I’m doing. Trying to live healthier and more aware of what I’m putting in my mouth. I always have been drinking water, soda and pop don’t really appeal to me that much. I drink it when I go out and occasionally at home. Plain non-sparkling water is fine, but can get boring from time to time. It was on facebook that I found a post about a girl asking where you could buy a decent water infuser. That made me curious. I wanted to know what that was, because it sounded interesting. I bought one the same day !!! ^^

A water infuser does what is says it should do. By putting fruit into your water, it makes it taste good, and you get all the vitamins as well !!! A huge PLUS for me 🙂  You can use fresh or frozen fruit. It’s really simple. 😉 You cut up your fresh fruit and put it in the strainer that on the inside of the bottle. Frozen fruit you just pour into the strainer, as frozen fruit is already bruised by being frozen and doesn’t need cutting. Put the strainer in the bottle and fill the bottle up with non-sparkling water. Bottled or tap, that is up to you. Let it sit for an hour to 4 hours and drink. It’s recommended to change out the fruit every time you make a fresh bottle.

On my first try, I slices a lemon. It tasted horribly !!! :p Citrus fruits should have their rinds (peels) removed. They give a bitter taste. Not very pleasant. I tried it again without the rind and it worked fantastic ! 😀

I mostly use frozen fruits. Mixed berries are my favorite !!! They turn my water nice and red and give a fantastic flavour. I tried with fresh berries, but that didn’t taste as good, nor did my water become red. 😦 Don’t defrost your frozen fruit before putting into the strainer. They have been frozen fresh of the field, still containing all they vitamins and minerals. When you let them thaw first, they loose precious vitamins. If they thaw in your water, those vitamins and minerals get released into your water. WIN – WIN !!! 

If you like to drink cold water without flavour, you can put ice cubes into the strainer.

For people that don’t have an infuse bottle, you can use a jar to ‘steep’ and strain out the fruit when you want to drink it.

What do you think about this concept ? Let me know !!! 😉 

Be Happy !!!

Bunnie

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Briana
    Feb 08, 2015 @ 13:13:53

    Love it. For us cheapskates do you think a muslin cloth would work. Put the fruit tied up in the cloth then in the drink bottle? Why not just put the fruit straight in the water?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Bunnywunnie8
      Feb 08, 2015 @ 13:16:28

      I think a muslin cloth would do yes 🙂 The strainer is because you don’t get the fruit into your mouth when you drink. Little things like seeds (like in lemons) don’t get into your water either. No choking hazard. And you can get the used fruit out easier. But yeah, you can just put it straight into your water ^^

      Like

      Reply

  2. NutriFitMama
    Feb 08, 2015 @ 15:36:02

    I LOVE my infuser water bottle. I really don’t use it often enough. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Farrah
    Feb 08, 2015 @ 15:56:25

    I love infused water! :]! I got a free infuser water bottle from a conference earlier last year and just started using it–it is wonderful in every way! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Émilie
    Feb 08, 2015 @ 16:55:58

    I have never tried it but I think it is certainly better than all of those VitaminWater type drinks you can buy!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Please leave a comment :)

