Water Spotting Tutorial – Guestblog Briana

Hey again 🙂

Its Briana from @briemmara on Instagram

I did a mani a little while ago with the water spotting technique and a few people asked me how it was done, so I thought knowing how awesome Stephanie’s blog readers are in that they love giving things a try, I thought this would be a fun little tutorial for anyone who hasn’t tried it before.

bri 12

Water spotting is similar to water marbling (but so much easier) where you drop a drop or two of polish into a small cup of water and then you use an alcohol based spray to spray onto the polish, causing it to spread apart making a pattern. It’s easy, quick and a lot of fun.

The polishes I’ll be using are (base coat which I forgot to picture but the one of the moment is Essence Studio Nails, Ultra strong nail hardener) a plain white crème, Sinful Colors Snow Me White, a metallic gold….I’ve got two pictured one is a Kmart brand called Gatsby and the other is Essie Good As Gold, they are dupes so I wanted to see how they compared for water based nail arts as different brands work better than others….my top coat is Shades Of Phoenix Top Coat.

bri 11

You’re also going to need some cuticle oil, mines from Two Birds, a clean-up brush, a little cup…I use plastic disposable shot glasses because they are cheap, disposable and a smaller circumference so I’m not using as much polish to get my circle, something to clean up the extra polish…a toothpick or orange stick is traditional but I didn’t have either on hand so used the end of my striping brush, and lastly some Isopropyl alcohol spray. According to the packet its real world uses are to clean glass, computer screens and walls when preparing them for hooks. I’ve been told you can also use hair spray, I’ve tried this and had limited success so I say just go for the alcohol and then you know you’ve got the best tool to start with.

bri 10

Start by giving your nails a good clean white base coat, for me this is two coats of Snow Me White and then top with a clear top coat. This important because if you make a mistake you can just take off the top layer of topcoat and not have to start all over again.

bri 9

Fill your glass up with water, some people say filtered, some say lukewarm, some say let the water stand for half an hour before you use it. I don’t know, I guess it depends on your water? If its winter I will go with the slightly above room temp water but its summer here so I just filled a larger glass up with water from the tap and let it stand while I got out all the rest of my stuff.

Now you need to prep your fingers, when you put your finger into the water it’s going to get messy….really messy. Some people use tape around their nail bed and up to their knuckle, other people use a craft glue they can peel off, I find cuticle oil works the best for me. Basically the idea is to put a barrier between your skin and then excess polish. Working one at a time I will put a good layer of cuticle oil around my nail bed and up to my knuckle…don’t forget the back of your finger too!

Drop two drops of polish onto the surface of the water, it’s important to hold the brush close to the surface of the water so the polish isn’t dropped from any height. The polish should spread out into a little circle.

bri 8

Then holding the bottle of Isopropyl about a rulers length away from the polish spritz a few times….the more you spray the more it’s going to disrupt the polish so it depends on what kind of pattern you want to you go for and how much coverage you want.

bri 7

bri 6

Holding your oiled up finger so its nail side down, parallel to the polish slowly put your finger in so it goes in on an angle and let it sit in the water a moment. Using your other hand use the wooden stick to swirl around the water picking up the extra polish still floating about then lift out your finger at the same angle it went in.

bri 5

bri 4

Quickly get a remover pad and wipe off the polish and oil around your finger before moving on to the next nail, it dries super fast and this makes cleaning up later so much easier.

bri 3

Move on to the rest of your nails and once your done go in with your usual clean up method, for me this an angled eyeliner brush and some acetone. Then top coat your nails and enjoy your handiwork.

bri 2

bri 1

If you’ve got any Q’s let me know and as always if you give this a try please tag me on

Instagram @briemmara so I can see what you’ve done.

Thanks to Stephanie for giving me space on her awesome blog xx

Good luck!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natalie
    Jan 08, 2015 @ 22:44:42

    What a cool technique this is! I’ve never heard of it, but I need to try it for a special occasion! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Shantha Wetterhan
    Jan 09, 2015 @ 04:12:34

    Simply gorgeous and very creative…love this!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Ragonda van Dalen
    Jan 16, 2015 @ 12:44:41

    This looks amazing! well done!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Please leave a comment :)

