Kissable lips – Lip scrub – DIY

Hi all of you 😀

Winter is here and lips are getting dryer and chapped. Well at least mine are hahaha 😉 I always have pretty dry lips and they tend to flake, even in summer 😦 Over the course of the last month I’ve seen a lot of beauty guru’s buy lip scrubs and blogging about them. Since DIY-ing is a lot of fun, I went online to search for some lovely lip scrub recipes. I found two that I like a lot and I could do with what I had in my kitchen cupboards.

Chocolate Lip Scrub:

* 2 teaspoons of sugar (white, brown, raw cane … doesn’t matter)

* 1 teaspoon of cocoa powder (I used 100% cocoa, but you can use just any)

* 1 teaspoon of olive oil (or any oil you got in the house)

* a mixing bowl and spoon

* a small container to store the lip scrub in

Put all the ingredients together in your mixing bowl and mix well. You got to eyeball it a bit. If it’s to dry, add some more oil. If it’s to moist, add some more sugar. For me personally I added a little more oil and a little more sugar.

This is what I ended up with 🙂 Nice dark, almost black lip scrub. For a harder scrub, use sugar with a bigger grain. If you want to prolong the shelf life of your scrub, store it in the fridge.

Vanilla Lip Scrub:

* 1 teaspoon of olive oil (or any oil you have)

* 1/2 teaspoon of honey

* 2 teaspoons of sugar (white, brown, raw cane, doesn’t really matter)

* 10 drops of vanilla extract

* a mixing bowl and spoon

* a small container for storage

Add all ingredients to your mixing bowl and stir firmly until you get a paste-like consistency. To spice up your lip scrub, you would use a little bit of cinnamon instead of vanilla extract. That is up to you 😉 You could keep it in the fridge for a longer shelf life.

Because I always use dark brown sugar, my scrubs will always be brown in color. (Yah DUH) This scrub is more sticky and ‘liquid’ than the other. But they work both the same.

To use the lip scrub: (this is the same for both)

* Put a little bit in your finger and rub onto your lips. Do this in circular movements. Don’t scrub to hard, we want soft kissable lips, not bleeding lips 🙂 

* You can also use a soft toothbrush to apply the scrub to your lips. Just make sure you don’t rub to hard and the toothbrush is a soft one. You can also use a damp washcloth to apply the scrub. 

* After you are done scrubbing, you can either lick of your lips, or wipe them with a damp washcloth or wet paper towel. 

* Apply your favorite lip balm or lipstick and you are ready for a night out, looking fabulous !!!

If you have more ideas for a flavour of lip scrub, or you have a recipe of your own, please don’t hesitate to share it in the comment section ^^

Be Happy !!!

Bunnie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Justine Y
    Dec 05, 2014 @ 19:14:55

    I love lip scrubs! I haven’t made my own yet 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Farrah
    Dec 05, 2014 @ 22:19:05

    Thanks for sharing this! I’ve been meaning to make my own, and it’ll be perfect, since I rarely ever use sugar in my cooking anyway! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Amy
    Dec 06, 2014 @ 04:27:54

    I really wanna make the vanilla one! Lip scrubs are some of my fav products especially in the winter!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Please leave a comment :)

