DIY Christmas tree – Guestblog Briana

Christmas is coming!

And what better way to get into the spirit than with a homemade tedious semi nail polish related craft project….introducing the Thumb Tack Christmas Tree tadaaaa 😀

foto 1

One of the things I truly love about this nail polish community is the way it is constantly evolving, looking for the next thing, pushing itself and ofcourse sharing the ride as we go.
Last year everyone was all about the nail polish decorated Christmas baubles.

This year, everyone is on a dragon egg high and thus was born, the dragon egg style thumb tack Christmas tree….

foto 2.jpg

Its super easy and if you’re lucky enough to live somewhere with cheap goods (america) then its going to be a cheap endeavor.

All you need is a styrofoam cone, a bucket load of pins/thumb tacks, a few bottles of polish and a board to put the pins on while you paint them

As for the cone the size is totally up to you but remember the bigger the more pins you’re going to need…so don’t start out too big, unless you’re a “go big or go home kind of girl like myself.” 
The cone I used is 27cm tall and used somewhere between 950 and 1000 pins….yes A THOUSAND PINS

The polish I used is a Sinfuls, I bought this especially for the project because I wasn’t sure how much polish I was going to use and I didn’t want to use already in my collection. I ended up using a full bottle of polish for my 1000 tacks, doing two coats on each tack.

When you paint the tacks you want something to pin them down onto, I started out using a cardboard box but found some old styrofoam from a new appliance and that was soooo much easier so I recommend using that.

To get started pin a few hundred tacks on to your board. Its tedious but you’re going to want to try and keep them in a straight line so that when you’re on the second coat (if your polish needs it, mine did) you can just easily work your way down the lines and not get lost on which have already been painted. The experts told me I needed to topcoat the pins and I did for the first 150 but honestly I couldn’t see a difference and it just seemed like a boring unnecessary step so after that I didn’t top coat anymore….I’m such a rebel.

foto 3

I found that working down the lines by the time I reached and painted the last tack the first one was already dry so I could do the second coat right away.

foto 4

Once they are fully dry after the second coat you can start placing.
Start at the bottom and place the pins in a row so they slightly overlap each other. Just keep working your way around.

foto 5

foto 6

To act as decorations I painted a few red, yellow and silver tacks which I topped off with a glow in the dark polish and as I worked my way up the tree I scattered these through out the green.

foto 7

foto 8

These look amazing and once you get into a groove it’s not so tedious. This was my first attempt at doing one of these so that in itself tells you how easy it is.

Will I do it again? I dont know….I did this over 3 days, about 8 hours in all with placing the pins, painting them and putting them on the cone. The cost of the tacks, polish and cone was $20.

Having said that the girls are very excited to do their own so I’ll probably end up buying a couple of much smaller cones and letting them have a go once Christmas is closer and they are at home bored looking for something to do.

If anyone gives these a go I’d really love you to post it on IG and tag me @briemmara so I can see what you’ve done.

Thanks to Stephanie to giving me a chance to jump on her blog and write up a guest piece.
For nail art and swatches check me out on IG @briemmara.


Thanks and take care,
Briana

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erika
    Oct 27, 2014 @ 18:40:12

    This is absolutely adorable! I am definitely going to make some of these!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Linda
    Oct 27, 2014 @ 23:28:28

    so cute and what a clever idea!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Rebecca Russell
    Oct 28, 2014 @ 01:10:51

    I’ve been doing eggs and will definitely do one of these; but I’m gonna go for the tiny trees. I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. ashleymccardia
    Oct 28, 2014 @ 04:22:27

    This is so cute!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Gintarė
    Nov 03, 2014 @ 16:21:06

    OMG, that’s so clever! Never thought of this! Maybe I’ll try it out this year!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Please leave a comment :)

